PSUMoms mobile logo

Penn State 2020 Fall Semester Regular Session Academic Calendar

This page contains important dates for the 2020 Fall Semester at Penn State University

Events

Days of the week

Dates

Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Monday - Tuesday August 17 - September 8
Leave of Absence - Deadline Friday August 21
Arrival Day - New Students Friday - Saturday August 21 - 22
Arrival Day - Returning Students Saturday - Sunday August 22 - 23
Student Registration - Deadline Sunday August 23
Classes Begin Monday August 24
Regular Drop - Deadline Saturday August 29 at 11:59 PM (ET)
Regular Add - Deadline Sunday August 30 at 11:59 PM (ET)
Late Drop Begins Sunday August 30
Late Registration Begins Monday August 31
Labor Day Holiday - Classes To Be Held Monday September 7
Final Exam Conflict - Filing Period Monday - Sunday September 28 - October 18
Late Drop - Deadline Friday November 13 at 11:59 PM (ET)
Declare Minor - Deadline (Graduating Students) Friday November 13
Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes Sunday - Saturday November 22 - 28
Withdrawal - Deadline Friday December 11 at 5:00 PM (ET)
Classes End Friday December 11
Study Days Saturday - Sunday December 12 - 13
Final Exams Monday - Friday December 14 - 18
Commencement Saturday December 19

Use these dates from the 2020 Fall Semester academic calendar to plan when the most important decisions should be made related to your student's college career. You can also plan ahead by taking vacations days at work to help your student move in or booking a hotel for commencement. Review the Penn State Campus map provided by PSUMoms to find your way around campus so you are not late meeting your student on these important dates.